Federal Set-Aside Goals


Federal agencies are legally required to set aside 23% of all contracts for small businesses. These agencies are also required to set aside a specific number of contracts for business owners who meet specific socioeconomic criteria:

The groups covered by these goals are small businesses that:

  • Are owned and controlled by service-disabled veterans, or
  • Qualify for HUBZone certification, or
  • Are owned and operated by socially and/or economically disadvantaged individuals
  • Are owned and controlled by women

It is not enough to simply self-certify as one or more of these socioeconomic groups. The SBA must certify you as one or more of these groups. The process for earning certification is involved and sometimes complicated. It is recommended that you work with a third-party government registration firm to help you earn your certification.